Food Food Food Food

This isn’t a food blog, but I’ve been experiencing so many tasty treats lately that I’ve been dying to share them!  I’m now dubbing a new tradition (which will occur sporadically, and unscheduled).  Welcome to Foodie Friday!

I went to the Taste of Cambridge 2 weeks ago and ate some incredibly delicious food with a couple friends.  This was such a cool experience, and got me very excited about exploring more of Cambridge.  I have made a list of restaurants to visit in Cambridge after my tastings:

Art Bar definitely wins for the best presentation.  They did a 3-course sample with Gazpacho (cold soup), beef on a toasted baguette, and a tiny chocolate or strawberry macaroon.

Henrietta’s Table was delicious – I loved their dressing best.  The greens were fresh and colorful, and the salad was topped w/ goat cheese (my fav!)

I’m pretty sure Flour is known for their other baked goods – but they sampled their gourmet Rice Krispies treats.  They had a vanilla-flavored batter to hold the krispies together.  I really want to visit to test out their red velvet cupcakes though….cause those are my weakness.

The strangest thing by far was this bacon-flavored cotton candy.  Yep, you read it right!  It tasted as bad as it sounds…

IMAG0333

Other places that sampled, and I was too busy shoving my face to snap pictures:

Grafton Street Pub & Grill – they sampled sliders that were bacon wrapped with this delicious cheese sauce condiment.

Oleana – they sampled this greek salad dish…can’t explain.  It was amazing.  I’m going back.  This was the #1 salad that I tasted that day.  But it wasn’t a greens salad….

Jose’s had the BEST chicken soup I might have ever tasted.  With their coupon, I’ll be back!  They were voted in the top 8 for Margarita’s by Phantom Gourmet – as if you needed more of a reason to visit!

Veggie Planet – I had heard about them recently from a friend, and was so excited to see that they were there with vegan baked goods!  Their vegan cheesecake was amazing.  This is on the list of places to take the boyfriend, pronto!

Other good eats included picnics with my parents.  the first was in the hotel room with fresh genoa salami from the fresh market in Stowe, VT

We also enjoyed a delicious picnic on the Charles waiting for Fourth of July fireworks.  This one was especially impressive because it was an impromptu feast.  We paired our dishes well: Pepperoni and Provolone; White Cheddar and Apples; Mozzarella and Grape Tomatoes; and Salami with Sundried Tomato Basil Cheddar.

While my parents were here, my favorite dinner by FAR was dinner on our last nigth in the South End, in Boston.  We went to a new restaurant at the suggestion of a friend of mine.  I knew my mom loved Mexican, and my dad agreed on account of the margaritas.  We had no idea what was in store for us.  It was a little intimidating when we walked in and was handed this for a menu:

Temazcal Tequila Cantina is my new favorite Boston Mexican go-to.  We spent between 30 and 45 minutes alone just perusing the menu!  It had all the details you could ever want, including beautiful mouth-watering pictures, preparation descriptions, and nutrition facts.  We shared the following appetizers

And these were our entrees

I can’t tell you which was my favorite, because it was all so amazing. Everyone loved their dish. And their cocktails were so tasty too!

(Please excuse the variation in picture quality….)

Ok, enough foodie for today!  I’m thinking of making this a bi-weekly thing.  Foodie Fridays??  Sounds good to me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Food Food Food Food

  1. Mary says:

    Having been a part of those family feasts I can attest to the deliciousness of each morsal consumed. You didn’t mention that you also have enjoyed the refrigerator full of leftovers from our gastronomical experiences! It was so fun!

  2. Pingback: Vacation Part II | Imagination to Reality

  3. Pingback: How I get (back) on track | Imagination to Reality

  4. Pingback: Foodie Friday II | Imagination to Reality

Leave a Reply

