Jetsetting

It seems that summers bring me to the road, or air. I’m definitely not complaining. Last summer, I got to go to New York, New Jersey, San Diego, Vermont, and New Hampshire. Warm weather is here and I’m ready to take on the world once again.

This week, my younger sister and my cousin graduated from high school! I flew back to my hometown in South Florida for a 36 hour flash-visit so I could see them get their diplomas. I think they were more excited about being done

DSC_0041

DSC_0042

and celebrating with their friends

DSC_0941

and wearing hot clothes

DSC_0939

than actually getting their diplomas.

DSC_0927

They were graduating from my HS alma matter. When I graduated, we were forbidden from throwing our caps in the air. The reason? I have no idea. It was a strictly enforced rule – and we were threatened that if we did, our post-graduation festivities would be cancelled. In hindsight, I have no idea how this kept us from throwing them anyway…the trip was paid for and they wouldn’t cancel it, and what were they going to do, keep us from walking? Oh, it would be too late!

Regardless, when I graduated, we all snuck in beach balls that said “Class of…..” and blew them up during the closing remarks, releasing them wildly at the ceremonial conclusion. But…the class of 2011 was not threatened or warned about the throwing of their hats, and it was a movie-esque scene when the class released their hats.

If you read my About Me page, you might know that my family loves to eat. In my 36 hours home….I managed to eat, a LOT. This trip was no exception. I’m really glad I woke up and ran 3 miles on Wednesday morning because of all of the eating that occurred the rest of the day…

Breakfast: Too early to have been wielding my camera, but it was our traditional staple family breakfast extravaganza. Homemade Sausage Gravy over biscuits, cheesy scrambled eggs, and bacon.

Snack: Hummus and veggies on the boat

Lunch/Snack: Margarita! And my favorites, at our favorite water-side restaurant, Island Grill

Spicy Tuna Roll:

IMG_6498

Fish Tacos

IMG_6499

Steamed Mussels

IMG_6500

It’s official, i’m spoiled. I cannot be satisfied by seafood in places other than “home.”

Dinner was at our classic restaurant (where the owners hug, kiss, and greet us by name), Old Tavernier. After sharing Three Cheese Filo and Baked Brie with the table (did you read the post about “cheese” being my favorite food group?), I at an Almond Encrusted Snapper, with Sundried Tomato Risotto and asparagus.

DSC_0922

Even though I was only around for a couple hours on Thursday, we managed to get up and go to the Lorelei by boat. I brought my D40 and managed to get a couple shots on the way

My trip was far too fast, and I miss my family already. Fortunately, I get to see them in just a few short weeks up here in my stomping grounds.

DSC_0007_2

DSC_0031_2

DSC_0046_2

DSC_0050_2

DSC_0049_2

For now, I’m just hanging on Bolt Bus, waiting to arrive in NYC.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

