Sky High

My Ruckus Recap received a skyrocketing number of views – thank you for your support, especially those of you offering praise and support for my overall fitness efforts. Also, I’m sure the increase was due in part by the fact that the Boyfriend provided a link on his facebook page – Hi to his stalkers as well! While the achievement and medal itself is a personal accomplishment, the support of peers is motivation to keep going. This is not a journey, but a lifestyle change, and I have to remember that it’s not over (it won’t ever be!), I can always do more to better myself.

Aside from the title referring to the number of views I got recently, it also refers to the fact that I will be in the SKY this time tomorrow, on my way to my sister’s high school graduation! I’m so proud of her – she got straight A’s in her last semester in high school (including the super-difficult Physics Honors course!) I’m so excited to go home and get some Vitamin D and enjoy time with the family. Since moving to Boston, I feel like I rarely see them enough at all, and I really want to make an effort to see them more often.

DSC_0655

IMG_5253

Getting ready to go home has set a lot of personal thoughts on the go – especially regarding eating habits and old lifestyles. One of my goals is to make sure I get up early enough to work out both days that I’m there. Since I am limited on time and space, I decided to bring my (ultra-light) Bikila LS to go for a run in. I think I will need to get up early so I can run before it’s a sweltering 95 degrees in 100% humidity (I do not miss it!!!!)

However, here is a challenge for you. Which forecast is Florida, and which is Mass:

Screen shot 2011-06-06 at 11.23.33 PM

Screen shot 2011-06-06 at 11.23.20 PM

Did you guess that Massachusetts will be 97 degrees on Wednesday?! If you did, then you’re CORRECT. Looks like I picked good timing for my travel plans.

However, as I was saying…my thought wheels have been a’ turning, and I’m going to put together a food post about my old favorites, how I replaced them with healthier (but still super tasty) foods, what I’ve managed to cut out, and what I cannot live without! I’ve learned through this fitness journey that I’m refusing to cut out tasty foods, and I can “blow it” for a whole weekend, but just jump back on track on Monday. For example:

Throughout this past weekend, while I was celebrating from my race I indulged in all kinds of foods: 2 beers, 2 bagels, fried eggs, regular cheese, starbucks frappachino, pinkberry parfait, movie popcorn, egg/eggplant sandwich from Clover AND an orzo salad. I ate 2000 calories on Sunday alone, and only walked about 2 miles total, no additional exercise. But today….I was right back on the plan. Overnight oats for breakfast, plenty of fruit and veggies for lunch, and a small (unbalanced, but good recovery) dinner. I worked out twice today, and Callie (my heart-rate monitor) told me I burned 1500+ calories between the two workouts. Not too shabby!

Speaking of workouts…I did put together a workout plan for the week last night, as I outlined in my goals post. Today’s workout…already changed! Tomorrow’s too! Ah – oh well. It was the thought that mattered, right?? I also mentioned a goal of running 65 miles in June. It’s a good thing my Wednesday and Thursday workouts are exclusively running, because my odometer only reads 2.1 right now! Think I’ll make it?

Ah, can’t wait until I’m here:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

